Skip to content
Story: Winners need pioneer-mentality
1916 premiere – in a surprising turn of events, Rea Lentz, who was entirely unknown in motorsport circles, won the first mountain race on Pikes Peak in the Romano Special
Object of desire – Spencer Penrose donated the first winner’s cup, made entirely from silver, in 1916
Louis Unser (Stutz Special) was the first member of the now legendary racing driver family to win Pikes Peak in 1934
Louis Unser celebrated another of his nine wins in 1946. His Maserati 8CTF was originally built for the 500-mile Indianapolis 500 race
Top speed on gravel – Rod Millen was victorious in the Toyota in 1994. His driving time was only beat once stretches of the route were tarmacked
Nine-time World Rally Champion Sébastien Loeb set the route record of 8 minutes and 13.878 seconds in 2013, which remains undefeated to this day. Copyright: Garth Milan/Red Bull Content Pool
This vehicle is supposed to be a new milestone: the ID. R Pikes Peak from Volkswagen