Skip to content
Story: Diversity is Key
Traditionally, motorbikes are the first group to start at the Pikes Peak International Hill Climb.
The first race in 1916 was won by Rea Lentz in his Romano Demon Special. Up to that point, Lentz had been completely unknown in racing circles.
The participants of the 1925 Pikes Peak Hill Climb in their starting configuration.
Up until the 1970s, they were the measure of all things – open wheelers with front-mounted engines and free-standing wheels, made popular by the Indycar racing series.
Almost off the shelf – the stock car class includes mass-produced vehicles with souped-up engines. This picture from 1967 shows a Chevrolet Impala SS with Bill Daniels at the wheel.
A desert buggy powered by Volkswagen – in 1972, Roger Mears wins with a rear-mounted 4-cylinder Boxer engine, enlarged to 2.2 liters of displacement.
So far, French national Michèle Mouton has been the only female driver to claim victory of the entire race. She won in 1985.
Audi Sport quattro, Michèle Mouton, 1985 – the first overall victory in a 4x4.
In 2016, Rhys Millen created a sensation by claiming the first overall victory in a fully electric car. Copyright: Alastair Ritchie Photography.
Sebastien Loeb performs at the Pikes Peak International Hill Climb at Pikes Peak in Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA on 30 June, 2013. // Garth Milan/Red Bull Content Pool // 1372676132738-1438755041 // Usage for editorial use only // Please go to for further information. //
Holder of the track record since 2013 – 9-time rally world champion Sébastien Loeb in his Peugeot. Copyright: Garth Milan/Red Bull Content Pool.
Past meets present – the Pierce-Arrow "Yellow Devil" from 1932 is a regular in the paddock to this day.
The fully electric race car by Volkswagen will start in the "unlimited" class in 2018.